Awards & Recognition

Since 1977, the Jamnalal Bajaj Foundation has been promoting Gandhiji’s constructive programs and honouring people who have aligned themselves with the Foundation’s causes. For seventeen fruitful years, Mr. Ramkrishna Bajaj was the leading light of the Foundation. After his demise, the Foundation found an able successor in Mr. Rahul Bajaj who took over as its Chairman. Rahulji, along with a competent Board of Trustees, has continued to nurture the activities of the Foundation.

The Foundation has instituted four annual awards, each carrying a cash prize of Rs. 10,00,000 (or its equivalent in foreign currency), a citation and a trophy; to encourage people to continue with their exemplary work of community development.

The IMC Ladies’ Wing, under the presidentship of Mrs. Kiran Bajaj, instituted an award in 1993 to recognise women entrepreneurs who work for the progress of rural India. These accomplished women are honoured with an award named after Jankideviji Bajaj, who strongly advocated the emancipation of women and envisioned them as agents of progress.

The Jankidevi Bajaj Puraskar for Rural Entrepreneurship was instituted to commemorate Jankideviji’s birth centenary and includes a cash prize of Rs. 5,00,000, a citation and a certificate. The corpus for this award is funded by Bajaj Electricals Ltd. Every year, the winners are felicitated at a ceremonial event.

Started in 1995, the IMC Ramkrishna Bajaj National Quality Award enjoys the stature of being one of India’s most prestigious quality awards. The eponymous award symbolizes the values of the man who ardently promoted the importance of quality and ethics in our economic and social development.

The criteria and the process of training and evaluation for this award are as rigorous as those of the Malcolm Baldrige awards of USA. All applicant organisations are given a detailed feedback report which forms the basis of mapping the quality journey of the organisation.

The Bajaj Group instituted the Jamnalal Bajaj Uchit Vyavhar Puraskar in 1988 by giving monetary aid to the Council for Fair Business Practices (CFBP). The award recognises the effort made by small, medium and large businesses, industrial enterprises and professionals in staying true to the CFBP’s mission.

In 1966, Ramkrishnaji had co-founded the Council for Fair Business Practices to uphold the highest standards in business ethics and to promote fair business practices. Later, Mr. Shekhar Bajaj, his eldest son, carried on the mantle as the President of the Council and he continues to be actively involved with its activities.